Life in Appalachia

Daniel Boone once camped in the Appalachian mountain hamlet of Owsley County which remains mostly populated by descendants of settlers to this day. The 2010 U.S. Census listed Owsley County as having the lowest median household income in the country outside of Puerto Rico, with 41.5% of residents living below the poverty line. Familial and community bonds run deep, with a populace that shares a collective historical and cultural legacy uncommon in most parts of the country. However, the community of around 5,000 struggles with a lack of jobs due to the decline in coal, tobacco and lumber industries along with health issues including drug addiction without effective treatment.

Getty Photographer Mario Tama spent time in Owsley County documenting the community. (via denverpost.com)

Visit Mario Tama website.

3 thoughts on “Life in Appalachia

  1. Caro Sandro, thank you very much! grazie ai tuoi post ora non solo sto imparando cose sulla fotografia, ma posso “improve” il mio bad English: l’unica cosa è che non posso gustarmi gli eventuali video…ahimé, già mi ci vogliono i sottotitoli quando sono in italiano :( :( Ad ogni modo, splendide foto.

  2. Mi spiace ma oltre ad allargare la “fascia di utenza” l’inglese mi permette di trovare info già confezionate senza bisogno di tradurle, il tempo è tiranno ultimamente e fatico a stare dietro al blog. Spero almeno di scegliere bene :)

    • Stai scegliendo benissimo, guarda che non era mica un rimprovero, dicevo sul serio a proposito del migliorare il mio inglese. Purtroppo ho problemi di udito, specialmente quando la voce è filtrata attraverso un microfono, e allora sono costretta a vedere i tuoi video senza capire una parola…ma questo è un problema mio.

Dimmi cosa ne pensi

