The streets of Junku Nishimura

Junku-Nishimura5

Born in a small coal-mine village in 1967 in Yamaguchi prefecture, western Japan, Junku Nishimura lived there until he was 18. He went to college in kyoto to study Latin American affairs. After college,  Junku worked as a club DJ, a construction worker and later got a job with a cement manufacturing company where he worked in tunnel construction sites across the country as a concrete expert. With a Leica in his hand, he started photographing the places he worked at. After 18 years, Junku quit his job and traveled the world taking photos. He is now a freelance photographer based in Nagoya and Yamaguchi, and his highly contrasting and intimate people & street photos are the main reason I wanted to share his exhilarating work with you guys.

“My country changed so rapidly over the past few decades, and I am not going along with it. Although streams in my village have been transformed into U-shaped gutters by an agricultural policy, I see more abandoned rice fields every year. As I go downtown, it has become one of those colorless, boring towns which are designed by officials. My confusion (and some sort of anger) toward such changes is probably urging me to take pictures of my childhood imagery.”

Leave a Reply

