My Only Escape by Kirsty Mitchell

surreal-photography-kirsty-mitchell-17

“My earliest memories were always of the stories read to me by my mother as a child … how it felt to be curled into her side, listening to the rush of her breath as she paused for effect, before launching into yet another characters voice… Tragically my mother was diagnosed with a brain tumour, and my world fell apart. Photography became my only escape when I could no longer talk about how I felt. I lost myself in street portraiture, focusing on those who reflected my own sadness and loss. I later turned the camera inwards, and began photographing myself throughout the hardest year of my life. It became an utter fantasy that blocked out the real world, and a place where I could return to my memories of her, far away from those hospitals walls.” Kirsty Mitchell. Read the full story on her website.

2 thoughts on “My Only Escape by Kirsty Mitchell

Leave a Reply

