Blurry and Ambiguous by Jonathan van Smit

12874910464_cf7ee9c98d_h

“I spent a few days simply walking the back streets of central Phnom Penh, taking lots of photos as I usually do, and one day plucked up enough courage to speak to Phouk, a girl who worked a corner where a slum alley led onto Street 51 which is a notorious red light area full of girlie bars and clubs. She spoke good English, and was quite happy for me to take photos provided that I gave her money so she could get her teeth fixed. I explained that I wanted photos related to drug use and also her work, and we arranged to meet the next day. The next day, Phouk introduced me to her friend, and took me to their room which was a small plywood shack reached by a ladder on top of the slum shanty buildings. I eventually did two photo sessions with them. I wanted a blurry, ambiguous nude photo and some that were more explicit about drug taking. Both the girls must have been beautiful once but drugs, poverty and their work have taken their toll. They smoke the local cheap methamphetamine ‘yama’ to cope and sometimes mix it with heroin.” Jonathan van Smit Read the full interview at l1ghtb1tes.com and don’t miss Jonathan’s Flikr page

4 thoughts on “Blurry and Ambiguous by Jonathan van Smit

  1. great pictures, impressive, do not leave indifferent … I think I’ve started to value them. good weekend. I love your blog.
    Soy española así que…perdón por mi inglés.

Leave a Reply

